Dad’s Chair

Tonight, I completed my humble attempt of upholstering a chair. This chair is right next to the main door and was dad’s seat of choice.

Even though it is the furthest away from the television, that’s where he preferred when watching tv. He reads the newspaper in this chair too, when we were still subscribing to the newspaper.

I can’t say exactly how we got this chair. It is certainly old, with iron springs covered with coconut husk inside the seat. Over the years, my dad, and probably grandpa too, have given it new covers and repainted the metal frame.

While working on the chairs I tried drawing it from memory. Not accurately done. Haha!

I don’t think I did a very good job since this is my first ever attempt. Removing the paint from the frame before priming it and then painting it was probably not as best as it could have been.

Besides repairing the worn out seat and back covers, additional padding were added too. The fabric for the covers is half of an Ikea table cloth.

It was funny that in the midst of doing this, a neighbour peeked in, saw the frame and suggested that it should be thrown away. Well, I would agree that this is no antique but it does have personal meaning to my brother and I.

I am glad to have this as one way of honouring the memory of my dad.

About pauseability

An educator at large and learner at heart. Founder of Pauseability. Encouraging everyone to learn to pause, and pause to learn.
This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment