A Spot of Art

Teatime-2

Art as process and as a way to unwind have always been important to me in both my own explorations and in my invitation to others to try it out for themselves. Being able to make art digitally definitely opens up new vistas of explorations as a new medium, with new freedoms and features, and of course a cheap and almost endless supply of canvases to work on.

Digital collaging is something I am playing with. Using a piece I did using some extra paint (going for no/low waste), and in very Eric Carle style, I created a digital collage using the Procreate app on the iPad with Apple pencil.

Besides being able to easily position the pieces before “pasting” down, it is also possible to experiment with cutting the shapes over and over again, and to duplicate, to lighten and darken, to change the colours, and so on. Does it make it less of a collage?

As is normally my approach, I started with just a petal and built from there rather than having a specific final picture in mind.

Teatime-1

Did the colour combinations work well? Could I have just created the “base” piece digitally as well to create this? What would be different?

This was created over about 2 hours, with the radio playing on my iPad. In ways similar and different from creating a physical collage. Named this “Teatime Chat” and this represents part of my chat I guess.

Would anyone be keen to try out a guided session to experience this for yourself?

 

About pauseability

An educator at large and learner at heart. Founder of Pauseability. Encouraging everyone to learn to pause, and pause to learn.
This entry was posted in App, Artsplorer, Creativity, Illustration, iPad, Reflections and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Spot of Art

  1. SauceBox says:

    Good stuff! I loved these colors! You’ve got my follow. Check out my comedy blog and give it a follow if you like it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

